KurdistanMonitor Glossary

Bakure Kurdistan – Northern Kurdistan – Turkey

PKK – Partiya Karkerên Kurdistanê – Kurdistan Workers Party – The PKK is

HPG – Hezen parastina gel – Peoples Defense forces – The HPG is the military wing of the PKK.

YJA Star – Yekîneyên Jinên Azad ên Star –

AANES – Rojava – Western Kurdistan – Syria

AANES – Autonomous Administration of North and East Syria – the AANES

SDF – Hêzen Sûriya Demokratîk – Syrian Democratic Forces, multi ethnic army of the AANES

YPG – Yekîneyên Parastina Gel – Peoples Defense Units – The YPG is a mostly Kurdish military force in the AANES and part of the SDF. They are compromised of local military councils and units.

YPJ – Yekîneyên Parastina Jin – Womans protection Units – the YPJ is a military subgroup of the YPG, exclusively compromised of woman.

MMC – Manbij Military Council – The Manbij Military Council is a military council consisting of the inhabitants of the Manbij Kanton. The MMC consists of male and female members of multiple ethnicities and religious background. The MMC is part of the Syrian Democratic Forces (SDF) but enjoys several priviliges which grants them an autonomy within the framework of the SDF.


Bashure Kurdistan – South Kurdistan – Iraq